11.12.11

Here is the ballad of David and Abby.

David and I started dating on March 18, 2009. He proposed on December 12, 2010 at his parents’ house. We set the date for November 12, 2011, exactly eleven months after the proposal. I was a big fan of the way 11.12.11 looked when I wrote it out, and I also love fall weddings.

The details for our wedding fell into place quickly, starting with the perfect dress. I found it in a magazine when I was flipping through for ideas. On March 12, 2011, my stepmother, sister, and I went to try it on, and it was love at first sight.

Trying on my dress for the first time

We quickly settled on a vintage feel for the wedding, and the details fell into place immediately. We were going to get married on campus at my alma mater, Mississippi University for Women. I couldn’t wait!

David and I chose to do a “first look” before the ceremony, and do all family pictures before hand as well. I loved the idea of seeing each other for the first time as I walked down the aisle, but David and I both come from rather large families, and I just couldn’t put my guests through waiting all that time for us to finish family pictures before showing up at the reception.

Checking each other out for the first time

The family pictures took FOREVER, but we finally managed to finish and relax a bit before the ceremony.

The ceremony was beautiful. My grandfather performed it, and I couldn’t have asked for a more personal, moving ceremony.

We walked out to Abba’s “I Do,” which has got to be in my top ten favorite songs. It was one of the happiest moments of the day for me!

We made our way over to the reception and did the cake cutting. This was an extremely awkward moment for me because we were in the middle of a circle of people, and I began feeling incredibly claustrophobic. We made it through, thankfully.

Our first dance was “Can’t Help Falling in Love With You” by Elvis Presley. It may seem like a tired, been-done first dance, but it was very personal to us. Our favorite show is Sons of Anarchy, and this song was played at the very end of the pilot episode. That made it our perfect choice.

My father and I danced to “Forever Young” by Audra Mae. This was also a choice from Sons of Anarchy, which my father also watches. In fact, I was the one who got him into watching it, and now we call each other every Tuesday before the new episode airs and text through the entire hour. Anyway, that song really hit home for me one day while I was watching the show, and after looking up the lyrics, I determined it would be a perfect song for a father-daughter dance.

My father and I are both big criers.

Anyway, after the dances and the garter/bouquet toss, we spent some more time visiting with our guests, then it was time to go. I knew we’d be exiting at night, and so I wanted to have a send off that would photograph well. I’ve always loved sparklers- I prefer them by far to any other kind of firework. Once I got the okay from our wedding coordinator to use sparklers, I began dreaming of a picture of us positioned just right in front of all those sparklers.

Like any wedding, things didn’t go exactly right. Most of the glitches were tiny ones, things that I didn’t even really notice until all was said and done.

The only thing that really stuck out to me was that we weren’t really ready to leave when we were herded out the door. I’m not really sure who decided it was time to pass out the sparklers, but all of a sudden everyone was outside lighting them, and David and I looked at each other, shrugged, and headed out the door. It wasn’t until we got to the car that we realized we hadn’t gotten the boxes of food and cake that the caterer was supposed to have boxed up.

Rather than show right back up at our wedding after it was over, we decided to just forget it and go find something else for dinner! We ended up going to Chili’s, which was pretty glorious after eleven months of dieting! It ended up being even more perfect because I found out my elementary school best friend, Yvonne, was staying with her boyfriend in a hotel across the street.  They came over and met us and I ended up getting to spend a ton of quality time with one of my oldest friends, who I have seen exactly four times since I moved away from her in the seventh grade. So not all wedding mishaps end poorly!

That’s about all for tonight. I’ll try to pop back in tomorrow and share with you about my job. Tomorrow is picture day, so I’m confident I’ll have plenty to say!

Abby

One thought on “11.12.11

  1. Pingback: Sunday Social | The Happy Teapot

Any thoughts?

