Saying Good Bye

Man, oh man, what a week.

Nothing especially bad has happened, but it’s been a rough one. Between trying to finish our workbooks, keeping my kids on task when the playground is beckoning, and getting myself emotionally ready for some of them to leave me, I have had a very difficult time.

Yesterday was the last day of the year, and I spent as much time as possible having fun with my kids. We ate breakfast, played on the playground, then I brought them back inside to make lemon burst cookies, using a very simple recipe.

1 Box Lemon cake mix

1 egg

8 oz. Cool Whip

1/3 cup Powdered Sugar

Combine cake mix, egg, and cool whip in a mixing bowl. Dough will be very thick and sticky. Drop by spoonfuls into a separate bowl with powdered sugar. Roll the balls around in the sugar, then place on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 12 minutes.

My kids are obsessed with fruit and fruit-flavored treats, so I knew this would be a perfect treat for them. They loved it! I mixed the dough myself, then let them roll it in the sugar and put on the cookie sheet. When the cookies were done, we each had one, then saved the rest for snack time.

We played hard all morning, then they took naps. At naptime, I knew that the time to say goodbye was approaching, so my good mood began deteriorating. Lady and the Tramp was playing as they slept, and I have to admit that during a few scenes I was sniffling and snuffling away, thanking God that they were asleep and unable to see Miss Abby totally losing it.

At snacktime, we ate the rest of our cookies, and the first of my kids, E, left. She was one who was moving out of town and so this was really goodbye. And of course, her mom came in to take our picture, and they had brought me a gift, so I plopped down in the floor to open it and immediately burst into tears. She brought me three teapots, and explained that E had told her that Miss Abby loved teapots, so that is what she insisted her mom pick out for me. I managed to dry my tears enough to take a few pictures and hug her good bye, but when she walked out the door I had to hide in the kitchen until I could regain my composure.

I managed to make it through the next few hours, until another student, A, left. He has been at my school and daycare since he was an infant, so this was an emotional one for every single teacher- all the others have been there since before A was born, so they have gotten to see him grow up. Anyway, he came around with hugs for all of us, and I managed to stay cool with only a misty eye. Then his mom came to the playground to give me a hug, and when I saw the tears in her eyes I couldn’t stop my own.

The rest of the afternoon was more of the same. I really don’t know how teachers can do this year after year. I think that teaching the oldest group of kids at any school must be more difficult, because they are leaving not just your room, but the whole school.

Anyway, I’m relieved it’s the weekend, and that all the good byes have been said. I’m even more grateful that I am off Monday for the long weekend, and that I have an extra day to roll around on the couch in my pajamas watching Sons of Anarchy, since my obsession has returned full-force.

Happy Weekend to all!

A

Any thoughts?

