Zoom, zoom!

This weekend was crazy busy!!

After the week I’ve had, all I wanted was to relax! That was far from the case.

I got off work early Friday, so David and I went to the bank, then took our friend Eric with us to eat lunch. We then traveled over to K Mart and went a little wild in the five-dollar-movie bin! We bought all three Spiderman movies (we are ECSTATIC about going to see the new one this week!!), plus David bought me Beetlejuice, Sixteen Candles, and The Sandlot. We also found our cats a spiffy little condo!

It was half-price, so we snapped it up immediately! The whole thing velcroes together, and the bed on top isn’t attached, but I thought it looked cute there. The cats are obsessed with it. They’re so happy!

Anyway, I went to Maddie’s Friday night to do laundry, and we had such a good time. We are both obsessed with the show Friends, and she has all the seasons on DVD. We watched all the gag reels, and I think I may have pulled a muscle in my cheek from laughing so hard! We went to Dollar General, and of course we managed to get ourselves in trouble by knocking over an entire display of Pull-Ups. We DID put them all back, though!!

Saturday I had my mind made up to relax all day long. I wanted to get some light cleaning done, but mostly I just wanted to sit on the couch and watch movies. I rented New Year’s Eve from Red Box, and I’m not ashamed to say that I cried my eyes out. I love New Year’s Eve. It is my second-favorite holiday (Halloween being the first), and I love all the cheesy, ridiculous hype that goes along with it. I realize that this movie was cheesy and predictable, but I just don’t care. Sometimes you want a steak, and sometimes you just want a McDonald’s cheeseburger. This is my cheeseburger, and I don’t care.

Anyway, David’s aunt Audrey texted me and invited me to go see Magic Mike with her. I had no intentions of getting all dolled up and running to the theatre with singles in hand to scream and squeal over Channing Tatum, but I thought, what the heck? I have nothing else to do.

I actually enjoyed the movie. It was silly and felt very much like sitting in a strip club- it wasn’t glitzy or glamorous in the way of most “dance” movies. The storyline, of course, was lacking, but I didn’t really have a problem with that. The problem I did have was that if the storyline is going to suck, then such a large chunk of the movie should NOT be dedicated to it! Oh, well. It was still fun.

Today I woke up, went to the church to work in the nursery, and then went to Dollar General. I am a sucker for Dollar General clearance items. Actually, I’m a sucker for any clearance. Anyway, I found this sweet little bird on the very top shelf.

It doesn’t fit in with our color scheme at ALL, but that’s what spray paint is for, right?! It’s a tea light candle holder, and it is just plain adorable. I am so happy!

I also took a stab at making my own laundry detergent. I used a very basic recipe, and once I use the detergent tomorrow night, I will give you a full review and share the recipe. However, I will share this thought with you now-

I HATED grating the bar of soap.

That is my “I’m sick and tired of this and I honestly don’t care if this works or not anymore” face.

So hopefully this stuff will work, because I will NOT be happy if it doesn’t!!

And last but not least, it FINALLY RAINED today!!! I don’t know where the thunderstorm came from, but I am SO happy it did! Rain is my favorite thing in the world. I’ll take thunderstorms over sunny skies any day, and it has been so hot lately that I was like a child seeing the first snow. I rushed all my plants out to the porch to get some fresh air and some rain, and ran around downstairs in the parking lot enjoying the feel of the rain drops on my face. Oh, it was dreamy.

It’s been quite a weekend! I will be back tomorrow, with some thoughts about marriage! I’m thinking about tackling the topic of how to argue productively! Intriguing, yes?

Love, love, love,

A

Posted in Fun

Any thoughts?

