Teapot Tuesday

Look at that cutie pie!!

I love this teapot. My dad’s mom, my Maw Maw, gave it to me. Before I go any further, let me tell you about my Maw Maw.

I spent a LOT of time with her as a child. My parents divorced when I was quite young, and most of the time when we went to visit my dad, we all stayed at my grandparents’ house. This is the sweetest woman on Earth.

She let me make biscuits with her every Saturday morning, and she always allowed me to poke a hole in the middle of the biscuit I made for my dad. She taught me how to sew, and is probably the main reason that I am at all creative. She’s told me so many stories about her life, and I never get tired of them.

I remember being about 15 and riding in the car with her, and she gave me some of the most sound advice about marriage that I have ever heard. I had been going on and on about my little boyfriend at the time, and said that we would probably get married someday. (As a side note, to that I say “Thank God we didn’t!”) Anyway, my grandmother thought for a few seconds, and then told me something that I didn’t understand at the time. She said, “A lot of people think that marriage is one person taking care of the other. The husband takes care of the wife, or the wife takes care of the husband. But really, in a good marriage, you take care of each other.”

At the time, I just didn’t fully understand what that meant. Now, I see that simple piece of wisdom as one of the most profound things she ever said to me.

I love my Maw Maw with all my heart, and I really need to schedule a visit to her house soon.

Anyway, she gave me this teapot when I was down at her house visiting before the wedding. I love it, and I think it’s probably one of the prettiest teapots I own. Thanks Maw Maw! I love you always!

A

P.S. I typed this entire post while wearing a Batman mask.

4 thoughts on “Teapot Tuesday

Any thoughts?

