Teapot Tuesday

 

If this blog has taught you anything about me, it has taught you that I am a crybaby. I cannot help myself. I cry when I am happy, sad, angry, frustrated, surprised, sick, etc. Pretty much any strong emotion starts me blinking back tears.

Anyway, the day I received this teapot was no exception. I have received quite a few gifts from my kids over the last year. All of the gifts have been very sweet and thoughtful, and I am so grateful to my students’ parents for thinking of me and bringing me such lovely presents.

Anyway, the end of the school year brought on a flood of the most incredibly thoughtful, sweet gifts of all. The next few Tuesdays will be dedicated to each of these gifts, and I’ll start with the first one I received.

This little teapot was from E, one of the boys in my class. I have to admit that I had a little bit of doubt about E at first. He was clearly a very smart child, and he was well-liked by his classmates, and had been at the school since he was a baby. The problem was, E just didn’t seem to like me.

I did not understand this at all. Not to toot my own horn or anything, but toot toot. I have never had a problem with children disliking me. Sure, some that I baby-sat would cry when I got there, and they realized their parents were leaving, but as soon as that settled down, we’d have a big old time. I frequently befriend children at Wal Mart or the park, and usually I don’t have to do much besides be myself.

So why didn’t E like me?

Well, I don’t really know. I think it basically amounted to me being the new teacher, but it was pretty tough at first. E didn’t give me a lot of trouble, but he didn’t run for hugs like all my other kids, or tell me he loved me, or anything else like that.

Anyway, I put my hurt feelings aside and carried on with life as normal. I resigned myself to the thought that maybe every kid just wasn’t going to love me. After all, not every person you meet is your best friend, so why should every child adore me?

EXCEPT.

I can’t remember when, sometime around my birthday, which is in October, E began to warm up to me. He didn’t sit as far away from me as possible at circle time, and he didn’t call me Mr. Johnny Fakehead anymore. (Yes, that did happen for awhile.)

Then one day, we were watching a movie at the end of the day, and E approached me. “Miss Abby, I want to sit in your lap.”

I’m sorry, what?? 

I was so startled that I think I just opened my arms and let him snuggle up in my lap, where he sat contentedly until his mom showed up at least thirty minutes later.

From then on, E and I were best buds. He was always at the front of the crowd running to greet me in the mornings, and at least once an hour, E approached me for a hug and an “I love you.”

Anyway, at the end of the year, E came into class clasping a box in his hands. On top of the box was this:

Sorry for the poor picture quality.

Well, I don’t think I have to tell you how quickly I erupted into tears.

Of course, the gift was that beautiful cat teapot. It sits on the bookshelf in my living room, and I will never, ever be able to look at it without feeling a little misty-eyed. E might not have loved me the fastest, but I think he’s probably the one that loves me the most.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Teapot Tuesday

  1. When I read your posts about your kids, it always makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. You may be under appreciated, over worked and under paid, but you are making a difference in children’s lives. Never forget that.

Any thoughts?

