Ba Ba Ba Ba Ba Na Na

If you haven’t seen the trailer for Despicable Me 2 yet, well…. don’t even read this, don’t even LOOK at this until you have. It’s so cute.

Okay, first things first. I do NOT like bananas.

I apologize for the poor picture quality. My webcam is level “meh” at best.

I cannot stand bananas. I think it’s the texture. Any food that makes you make this face should be avoided, right?

EXCEPT. I love the way banana-flavored things taste. Oh, how funny life can be.

So what’s a girl to do? As someone working on maintaining her schoolgirl figure, I can’t fulfill my banana-flavoring cravings by shoveling banana Laffy Taffy candy in my mouth every day.

Well, Pinterest helped me out once again. It turns out, if you chop, freeze, and blend a banana, it apparently turns into some delicious creamy custardy ice creamy treat.

Well. This I had to try.

So I chopped and froze 2 bananas. I only froze them for about an hour and a half.

I opened my food processor for the first time ever.

And I processed. I alternated between the chop and grind modes, because I just couldn’t make up my mind what to do.

After taking an initial taste, I found that it was still simply too banana-y for me. I took Chelsey’s advice and added 1/4 cup of milk. I processed more, then decided it was time to experiment. I tend to do this when I am only cooking for myself, because then if I am disappointed, tough stuff. If I cook for a crowd, I get far too nervous to do any experimentation.

Anyway, I added one spoonful of peanut butter, processed, tasted, then tossed in a few (probably 7 or 8) chocolate chips in, too. Finally, I was done.

I spooned a little into my Corningware ramekins, which I never seem to use for their intended purpose. (What is the intended purpose, anyhow?)

So, how was it?

Surprisingly delicious! I was pretty skeptical about this experiment all the way through, but I chugged along because I genuinely dislike giving up a project halfway through. I am so pleased that I did!

A

4 thoughts on “Ba Ba Ba Ba Ba Na Na

  1. Pingback: 2012 Recap | The Happy Teapot

Any thoughts?

