Bacon Cheeseburger Soup

I am a huge fan of my Crock Pot. My boss, the director of my school, gave it to me as a wedding gift last fall, and it is by far one of the most useful things I have ever been given. I love soup, and I especially love throwing junk in a pot and leaving it alone until it becomes a delicious miracle creation. I’m a big fan of the “set it and forget it” style!

Anyway, I will be sharing one of my most recent creations with you today- Bacon Cheeseburger Soup! I made this last weekend and it was absolutely delicious. David is probably one of the world’s pickiest eaters and he LOVED it. Now that it’s finally cooling off enough to be soup weather (YAY!!!), I plan to make this more than a few times.

I used this recipe, but I tweaked it a little based on my (well, David’s) personal preferences. Here is my modified recipe-

Bacon Cheeseburger Soup

1 lb ground beef

6 slices turkey bacon

1 bag frozen hashbrowns (I used chunky, but either this or the shredded will work)

1 lb Velveeta Cheese (you could use the larger block if you wanted a cheesier soup, but for us the smaller block was fine)

1 box chicken broth stock (reduced sodium)

1 container Philadelphia Cooking Creme (Italian Cheese and Herb Flavoring)

1 tbs onion powder

Directions- 

1. Brown ground beef and drain.

2. Cook bacon and crumble.

3. Put all ingredients in the crock pot. (I put the Velveeta in last, because I like to mix everything up before I start it cooking, and Velveeta, of course, doesn’t mix until it starts melting.)

4. Set on low and cook 4-5 hours.

5. Serve up and enjoy! This soup is so filling that you will have tons left over, and I am a HUGE fan of leftovers!!

A

Any thoughts?

