Movie Monday: Movies of My Childhood

Hi, guys!

Since I don’t have much to post about on the topic of marriage today, I thought I’d write another post about movies. This time, I’d like to talk about some of the movies that saw me through my childhood.

           

 

 

Oh, man. Just looking at the pictures of these is making me feel so wistful and happy. I could really go for a bowl of rainbow sherbert topped with gummy bears right now, incidentally. (Yes, that was the absolute top-choice treat of my childhood. Don’t knock it til you try it.)

Anyway. I could speak volumes about each one of these movies, but I think I’ll just give you a brief rundown on why each movie meant so much to me.

1. Disney’s The Little Mermaid. I can admit to you without shame, dear readers, that this is my absolute favorite movie of all time. I tear up every time I hear the opening music (surprise surprise, am I right?). I’m pretty sure this was the first movie I ever actually watched all the way through, and I have been addicted to it ever since. I have been Ariel for Halloween, I had an Ariel beach towel in middle school, and even now I would proudly be the only adult in line to meet Ariel at Disney World. I don’t think I really need to give anyone a summary of this one.

2. Anne of Green Gables. If you haven’t ever seen this movie (or mini-series, whichever you prefer), you need to get yourself over to a movie store STAT. The book was one of my most-read in elementary school, and the screen adaptation is no disappointment. It follows the story of Anne, a precocious 11-year-old orphan, and those whose lives she touches everywhere she goes. Some of the best memories of my life are watching this with my MawMaw on weekends I spent at her house.

3. A Little Princess. For this one, just forget the tissues altogether and wrap your face in a towel. A total tearjerker, this movie is the story of Sara Crewe, a little girl who believes she is a princess, and how she copes with the loss of everything she knows. Every single time I watch this movie, I cry until my head throbs and then call my dad to tell him I love him. Watch the movie. You’ll understand. (I personally prefer this version to the Shirley Temple version, although I do enjoy that one as well.)

4. The Goonies. Oh, this movie. I remember my dad renting it for me one weekend when we were staying at my grandparents’ house, and telling me to just give it a try. I begrudgingly did, and now, I can recite it line for line. It is the story of Mikey and his friends, The Goonies, on a search for buried treasure. It’s hilarious and strange and a just-plain-fun movie.

5. The Last Unicorn. Every single weekend, when my brother and I would go to visit our dad, he would let us go to Movie Gallery and each got to pick a movie. My brother picked things like The Breakfast Club and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, but I, without fail, every weekend, would pick The Last Unicorn. At some point, that movie store closed, and I could never find a copy of the movie again. At long last, I got the VHS copy as a present in high school. It was one of those movies that you watch when you are older and think, “WHAT????” I guess I didn’t realize how weird it was when I was little. Anyway, true love never dies, so The Last Unicorn had to make the list. It’s the story of a unicorn who finds out that she is the last unicorn alive, and goes on a search for the other unicorns who have all disappeared. The music is by America, of “Horse With No Name” fame. The opening song alone is enough to bring me immense joy, despite how insane the rest of the movie might be.

What are your favorite movies from childhood? Any of the above?

Have a great week!

A

6 thoughts on “Movie Monday: Movies of My Childhood

  1. Little Mermaid, Cinderella, The Care Bears Movie, The Care Bears Movie II: A New Generation, My Little Pony: The Movie, The Brave Little Toaster, Troop Beverly Hills, Can’t Buy Me Love, Teen Witch, Teen Wolf… etc. Haha

  2. Pingback: Movie Monday: Scary Movies!! | The Happy Teapot

Any thoughts?

