Teacher Tuesdays- Ups and Downs

Let’s be honest. (I use that phrase a lot…)

Every job has its ups and downs. I spend so much time posting about the ups of my job, and there are many. However, I think today I might take a few minutes to list a few of the downers of working in early childhood education. Just so you guys know I’m human. ūüėČ

1. Drool. Really, dear readers, this is probably the worst thing to me. Drooling makes my skin crawl. This is why I pretty much constantly have tissues and hand wipes and hand sanitizer within arm’s length. For some reason, dirty diapers and runny noses don’t bother me NEARLY as much as drool does.

2. Volume control. I am, by nature, a very soft spoken person. Raising my voice is not something that comes naturally to me. And some of my kids are that way. However, others seem to be born with no concept of loud and quiet. I understand that that’s the way kids are, and I don’t hold it against them, but I don’t like having to raise my voice to be heard over them.

3. Using the word “potty.” This one is maybe just a little bit ridiculous, but I genuinely do not like using the word “potty.” It makes me feel silly, and not in a good way. I don’t think I ever in my life used that word before this job, even as a child. I was very prim and proper, so I distinctly remember always saying “restroom” before I would even say “bathroom.” I understand that my kids are used to saying things a certain way, and I will absolutely put aside my preferences to¬†accommodate them, but I still don’t have to LIKE it.

4. Lunch time. At my job, we serve the kids lunch directly before nap time. This is an incredibly chaotic time in the day, because the kids have just had playtime, so they are still pretty wound up, and half of them are screaming for more of something, and half the others have barely picked at their plates and already are done. Besides that, I have to worry about getting the cots out for nap time, making sure that the kids who tend to talk and play on the cots are not beside other talkers, cleaning my tables, making sure all of my kids use the restroom (excuse me, POTTY), etc. It’s just an incredibly loud and chaotic few minutes of the day, and it is definitely not the best part.

And really, honestly, that’s about it. Of course, I don’t like when we have discipline issues and I¬†really¬†don’t like having to be the disciplinarian, but I feel like that’s self-explanatory.

I guess that’s about it for tonight. I need to catch up a little on my sleep tonight!

A

One thought on “Teacher Tuesdays- Ups and Downs

Any thoughts?

