Fur Children Friday

I decided today, in the spirit of alliteration and also sharing more about my personal life, to tell you all about our cats. They are my (well, our) little angel love bugs, and I just can’t brag on them enough.

We have four cats. Yes, four cats. It’s a long story, but here’s the basics. I had two, and planned on only ever having two. However, my former roommates and dear friends decided that they were no longer able to care for the cats they had, and offered me first dibs on them. I said yes for three reasons:

1. I considered the other two cats to be mine as well. I had known those cats from the time they were just a few weeks old and had just been rescued, and helped in domesticating them. I loved them like they were my own already.

2. They were very close to my own cats. All four are very close in age, and so they had grown up together and were all best friends. I’m serious- after the intial getting-to-know-you stage, these four cats have almost never fought in the entire time they’ve lived together. They have little spit-spats and wrestling matches, but those don’t count.

3. I cannot bear to see an animal go to the shelter if there is something I can do to stop it. I know that a lot of shelter workers and volunteers have a genuine love for what they do, but it is too easy to be overlooked and neglected in a shelter, and I don’t think I could have lived with myself if I had let them be taken to the shelter.

Anyway, that’s the saga of how I ended up with four cats. I can honestly tell you that I have never once regretted that decision. Yes, it’s a little crowded. Yes, I sometimes think life would be just a little easier if I didn’t have the responsibility of caring for four living things besides David and myself. But also, nothing in the world brightens my day the same way that coming through the door and finding my babies snuggled up together on the couch does. I love being a cat mom, and David and I couldn’t imagine life without our babies.

***PLEASE do not contact me to ask if I will adopt any more cats. We love our babies dearly, but we are not taking any more.***

Moving on. I would like to tell you a little bit about each cat and how they came to be part of our lives.

Oliver

This is our only boy. He is the very first that came into our clan. In January 2010, I had just moved into an apartment with my pledge sister, Madelyn. I received a text one day from one of our pledges, Brooke, asking if anyone was interested in adopting a cat she had just found beside a dumpster. After clearing it with Madelyn, I immediately responded. A few short minutes later, Oliver was brought to me. I could feel his ribs and he was trembling from both fear and the cold.

Oliver won my heart immediately. He is a loner who prefers being beside a window and alone to being held and petted. However, he always manages to know when I need him. Example: A few weeks ago, I was extremely sick with a stomach virus, and David was at work all day. I woke up from naps three different times to find Oliver perched beside me on the bed, watching over me as I slept. He very rarely purrs or meows, but when he does, it is probably one of my favorite sounds in the entire world. Oliver has chronic eye infections and severe flea allergies, so I have to take extra care of him, but I don’t mind. He is my angel.

Alice

Alice is our one and only cat that actually came from a shelter. I decided (prior to adopting our other two cats) that Oliver was going to need a friend, and headed to the animal shelter to scope out our options. I walked directly past Alice’s cage, and wandered around from cat to cat looking for a match. I saw several very sweet kitties, but none really struck me as “the one.” As I was walking out, a teeny little kitten woke up, stretched, and jumped on top of a scratching post to look at me. I stopped in my tracks and knelt down to look in her eyes. That was when I knew this was the cat for me.

Alice was only about three or four weeks old, and had just been spayed. (I won’t go into it now, but I am extremely opposed to spaying/neutering cats at that age.) She was so small that she could fit in the palm of my hand, and I stayed awake with her all night the first night she was in my apartment, because I was worried she wouldn’t make it. Needless to say, she did, and has become an irreplaceable member of our family. She is an incredibly affectionate, friendly cat, and the only one who sleeps with us every single night, usually on my chest. She is named for Alice in Alice in Wonderland. 

Sunny 

Oh, Sunny. She is probably one of the funniest cats you will ever meet. She is, of course, one of the cats that we adopted later down the line, but I have known her since she was seven weeks old. She and Oliver are about two weeks apart in age, and they have been inseparable since about day four, when they decided to be friends. If they were humans, Oliver and Sunny would be married. They take care of each other and are always snuggled up on the couch when I come home.

Sunny is an incredibly affectionate cat. She head-butts everyone, and is always crawling up in our guests’ lap for attention. She knows how to “give kisses” (meaning she licks you on the nose), and she is also our most vocal cat. She meows from the moment someone walks in the door until they stop to pay attention to her. I never get tired of hearing her sweet purr. Sunny was also a rescue. She was found under the hood of a car in a parking lot, and was passed through several hands before she finally became mine. She and I have had a special bond from the beginning, and when she finally was officially mine I was ecstatic!

Merri

Merri is the last addition to our group. She was also a former roommate’s cat, but her story is a little more interesting. A woman in Columbus had rescued a cat and then found out she was pregnant. When the kittens were ten weeks old, she decided to give them away, but keep the mother. My old roommate and I went to look at the kittens, and when I picked up little Merri, I knew this was the one. We took her home that day, and though she didn’t become mine for a year after that, I have loved her like my own from the first day. She is a manx, meaning she was born without a tail, and has very long back legs that enable her to jump to extreme heights. She is the baby of our family both in terms of adoption time and also age, but her personality is anything but babyish. She is tough and can definitely hold her own in a wrestling match against any of the other cats. Alice is her best friend, but she gets along well with each of the other cats. Merri loves to ride in the car with me, so I occasionally take her on drives to McDonald’s or Sonic.

Like I said, I know four cats is a lot. I never intended to own this many. However, I could never imagine my life without these sweet babies. David also loves them, which is so important to me. I can’t imagine my life without David or my cats, and the fact that he loves them and fusses over them as much as I do is a total blessing.

Oliver giving Alice a hug/bath.

Maybe the only picture I have of all four together.

Two of my girls napping together.

Oliver and Sunny in 2010 after their very first bath. They still sleep like this.

I think this picture says it all. Oliver + Sunny = True love 4-Eva.

Any other owners of multiple animals out there? Do you love it as much as I do?

I’m so glad it’s the weekend. I’m working extra hours this week because our schedule is a little thrown off this week, and I need a break! Not to mention we are closed Monday! WOOHOO!

A

5 thoughts on “Fur Children Friday

  1. Pingback: Wish List Wednesday: My Fur Children | The Happy Teapot

Any thoughts?

