Teacher Tuesday: Art Projects Everywhere!

We have been VERY busy in Miss Abby’s class over the last week. I can’t wait to show you some of the cute projects we’ve been working on!

Last week we were learning about the letter I. (Weird, I know. The curriculum our school follows has K4 learning all the letters out of order, starting with the vowels then making our way into the consonants. I think it’s a little weird, but whatever.) Anyway, I really love doing hand print art with the kids, as you know. For the letter “I,” it was hard to find an animal to use, and I really didn’t want to use “insect.” So we decided that I was for ICE CREAM!

I started by cutting out the cones from a beige sheet of paper. I spread the glue on the cones and let the kids put them on their construction paper themselves. Upon further inspection, I really should have made sure they all knew where to place their cones, because some of them placed the cones in a strange spot.

The idea was to put two hand prints on top of each other on the cone- one brown, one white, to represent a vanilla scoop and a chocolate scoop. I forgot to get a picture of one that turned out perfect, my apologies. Anyway, one little girl placed her cone too close to the top of her paper, and so I did a little improvising.

Get it? Her ice cream fell off the cone! I thought it turned out pretty cute.

And now, for a little secret about my teaching. I try and do at least two art projects for every letter of the alphabet. Sometimes, on more difficult letters, I have to turn to a stand-by, an ol’ reliable. That, my friends, happened with the letter “I.”

Here it is!

Pretty basic, but the kids love doing it.

It’s pretty self-explanatory, but here goes: Draw a very large outline of the letter you are learning. Rip up several different sheets of construction paper into small pieces, and put glue on the inside of the letter. Allow the students to place the paper pieces on the letter themselves. They love it!

Okay, and last one for today. (I’ve been saving all these projects for a few days to share on Teacher Tuesday, so I apologize for the over-load.) I saw this on Pinterest, and I loved the idea. The temps here have been over 90 degrees and will be for the rest of the week. I can’t take my class outside when it’s that hot, so I’ve been attempting to come up with a few fun ideas for them in the afternoons, rather than getting the same old toys out every day. Today, I decided we should finger paint.

Pinspiration:

Again, you can probably figure out how to do this one, but just in case, here’s a quick run-down. I got some white poster board from Dollar General and cut it into smaller squares, one for all eight of the kids I had in my class today. I then got some tape (masking is definitely preferred here, but Scotch tape did work), and used short pieces of the tape to spell out each child’s name.

After donning our giant paint shirts, which slip on directly over their clothes, I put some finger paint on paper plates and set out two per table, so that they could share. The idea is to completely cover the sheet in paint, so that when it all dries and you pull the tape up, the name, in white, is very visible. I had to encourage some of the kids to do this, but they ended up turning out beautifully.

Finished Product:

 

I’ll be the first to admit, my tape-letter skills are NOT exactly impressive. I could have done a lot better. But I had limited time to get everything ready, so I did what I could. I still think these turned out to be a wonderful project. My class loved it, and I’m looking around for some more fun projects like this to get us through the last of these hot summer days!!

Have a great night, guys! See you back here tomorrow!

A

 

 

4 thoughts on “Teacher Tuesday: Art Projects Everywhere!

Any thoughts?

