Sad Goodbyes

I come to you after a week of absence with some sad news, my dear readers.

Last Saturday, I was in the process of taking pictures for a photo-by-hour post that I planned on writing that evening. I was baby-sitting Catherine, one of my most precious little friends, and getting ready for a trip out to the pumpkin patch. David was at work. My phone rang, and my mother-in-law broke the news to me that her aunt Wanda and uncle Harris, my husband’s great aunt and uncle, were killed in a car wreck.

We have all been stunned and devastated by this loss. They were probably two of the best people that have ever existed, ever. I have never known two more generous, loving, solid people. I didn’t know them very well, but I am in a flood of grief, and I can only imagine how the rest of the family is feeling. Their children, grandchildren, brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, etc. are all in such pain over this loss, and all I want to do is be there for them as much as possible.

If you read back to my last Teapot Tuesday post, that teapot was a gift from Aunt Wanda. She is the generous, wonderful family member I spoke of in that post. I plan to feature her in several more upcoming posts, though I’d trade all the teapots back to have one last conversation.

The funeral was yesterday, and it was a beautiful, touching service, fitting for two beautiful people who touched the hearts of so many. If any of you are of the praying sort, feel free to send some up for their family and friends. We could all certainly use them.

Aunt Wanda and Uncle Harris, 

I didn’t know you as well as everyone else, but my heart is aching over this incredible tragedy. I find comfort in knowing that you are together, but I selfishly wish you could be here with us awhile longer. We will love you and miss you always. 

A

One thought on “Sad Goodbyes

Any thoughts?

