Favorite Books

I didn’t really have any great ideas for what to blog about today, but I just really feel like writing. I’ve missed my blog so much.

Anyway, I thought I’d take today to just give you guys a few suggestions for great books to read. We’ve talked about my book addiction, and we’ve discussed some of things I have recently read, but I haven’t ever devoted a post to my favorite books. I have so many that I love that it’s tough to narrow it down, but I managed to whittle it down to the top five.

 

1. Tuesdays with Morrie Mitch Albom

This book is one of those life-changers. Honestly. I read it a few years ago when I was in an airport waiting to go visit my family, and I have read it at least ten times since then. Every single time, I find something new that applies to whatever I am going through at the time. It is just absolutely beautiful.

 

2. Love the One You’re With Emily Giffin

Oh, Emily Giffin. She is my absolute favorite author. I have not been disappointed in a single one of her books. Besides that, she is extremely funny and personal in her “real” life. If you follow her on Twitter or read her Facebook page, she is so honest and up front with her readers and fans. I love her. Anyway, this is my favorite of her books. The main character, Ellen, is a woman who I relate to in a lot of ways. She struggles for a place to belong and fit in, and that is something I have had difficulty with my entire life. It’s a wonderful read.

3. Bridge to Terabithia Katherine Paterson

Warning- TEARJERKER. I tend to enjoy books that make me cry. Of course, nearly everything makes me cry, but I love books that genuinely touch my heart. Every book that I will list today is one that makes me cry. This book makes me sob. It’s a young adult novel, of course, but it handles some incredibly difficult material. The author wrote it to cope with a similar situation in her own life, and it is one of the best books I have ever read.

 

4. The Outsiders S.E. Hinton

I don’t know what it is with me and reading books like these in airports. I saw the movie and read the book when I was pretty young- maybe 7 or 8. In college, I had to take a course on children and young adult literature. I selected The Outsiders for my book report, because I knew I had liked it but I couldn’t remember why. I read it at the airport on a different trip to visit my family, and was actually asked by another passenger if I was okay because I was crying so hard. Yep. Pretty humiliating. Oh, well. I think this is one of those books that is completely timeless. It talks about the rivalry between the two social classes, the greasers and the Socs (short for Socials), but you could trade those two labels in for more current ones and the story would still be just as relevant.

 

5. Flowers in the Attic V.C. Andrews

I remember watching this movie in elementary school, and it was really, really bad. I’ll just be honest. I didn’t like it at all. I read the book later on, at some point in middle school, and loved it. Her work is disturbing, but it is also haunting and fascinating. There are actually four more books in the series following Flowers in the Attic, and they are all just as good as the first.

So, readers, what are your favorite books? Give me some good reading recommendations! 🙂

A

Any thoughts?

