It’s Cold.

My sweet little fingers are numb because I have been out in the freezing cold air all day running errands. The most fun and exciting of these errands was going over to a church friend’s house to go through her old baby clothes and select some for my sweet friend Brittany‘s baby Riley, who will be making her debut in February.

This will be the first baby to make an appearance in my life when I am old enough  to really understand and appreciate how exciting and special it is. I was very excited for my friends who had babies when I was in college, but I wasn’t mentally there yet, and so I couldn’t fully recognize what a very BIG deal it was to be creating a life.

Anyway, now my Brittany is having a beautiful little girl and I am so excited. So excited, in fact, that I cannot stop myself from buying clothes for her. I am, in fact, going way overboard. I am going to start on her book collection once the Christmas craze begins to slow down, and that’s probably going to be another huge project (possibly even huger than the clothes because I am so much more of a book person than a clothes person).

Surprisingly, even though I am obsessing over baby clothes and baby books and all other manner of baby paraphernalia, I don’t feel the pressure to have a baby of my own. I know it’s pretty typical of girls my age, particularly those that are married or in serious relationships, to feel the need to start planning for children. I am so happy for my friends that are beginning this journey, but we just aren’t there yet.

And you know what? That’s okay. We’re on our own timetable, and when we’re ready for diaper warmers and changing pads and pouring over What to Expect When You’re Expecting, all of it will be there waiting for us.

Do you have baby fever?

A

5 thoughts on “It’s Cold.

  1. I think this is very wise. I love my children more than anything, but am very happy that I waited until I was in my 30’s and I was ready to have them. I believe it made me a better more appreciative mom. Y’all are doing good and the right thing.

    • Thank you! I think we’re doing the right thing as well. Right now, I can focus all my attention on my school kids and learn as much as I can from them before we make the jump into parenting.

  2. Glad I had mine young. That was my life and it was beautiful. Now when I have grandchildren, I will have energy to do things with them and for them. For some couples a family at a young age is wonderful. I wouldn’t have traded it for the world.

  3. You know how I feel. I’ve got baby fever when I’m alone, but as soon as someone mentions me having a child, I clam up and adamantly deny any warm fuzzing feelings towards children. I want to wait because I know I’m not there yet, but even some things are out of my control. It will happen when it’s supposed to happen.

Any thoughts?

