Trans-Siberian Orchestra

Finally, I can blog about my first item marked off my 25 Before 26 list! #9, go to a concert, is now complete!

Yesterday, Maddie and I went to Birmingham for the day. We ate lunch at P.F. Chang’s, then strolled around The Summit and did some Christmas shopping (and bought new shirts to wear to the concert because we’re girls). Have I ever mentioned how much I love Birmingham? The traffic can be unbelievable, but it’s still one of my favorite cities in the world. I’d probably, if I had my choice of any city in the world, pick to live there. It’s culturally diverse and beautiful.

DSC04510

Once we finished shopping, we hit Pinkberry Yogurt and sampled the gingerbread (surprisingly DELICIOUS) before finally settling on chocolate yogurt. A change for me, because I tend to prefer the original tart or other fruit flavors, but a nice change.

After we finished up at Pinkberry, we found a gas station and changed into our new clothes.

DSC04516

We found a sweet parking spot within thirty seconds of the door of the BJCC and touched up our makeup before running inside like kids let loose on the playground. I’m talking skipping across the street holding hands, running up the stairs, and hopping down the stairs on the other side holding hands again. Maybe it was being in a different city where no one knew us, or maybe it was being away from our obligations for a day and experiencing something so special together, but either way, we were so carefree and happy the whole day. It was glorious.

We ended up getting to arena nearly two hours before we were supposed to be there. While we were waiting for the doors to open, I did a little people-watching. I love the kind of crowd that Trans-Siberian Orchestra draws. I saw sophisticated older couples with floor-length fur (faux fur I hope) coats, families with their children (thankfully, they were all in the area of being about ten years old, so not too young), young people the age of Maddie and me, people with pink streaks in their hair, or covered in tattoos, whatever. It’s nice that music can draw so many different kinds of people together.

We were finally let into the arena, and Maddie and I instantly found our seats since they were very close to the door. I bought our tickets within an hour of them going on sale, and I am so happy I did, since we ended up with some pretty incredible seats.

DSC04518

Amazing! We waited impatiently for the concert to start, and when it did we were NOT disappointed. I apologize in advance for the quality of some of these pictures. The lasers and smoke and whatnot, not to mention how fast they were moving, made some of the lighting/clarity of these a little off.

DSC04529

DSC04538

The violin player. I totally have a girl crush on her. She's phenomenal.

The violin player. I totally have a girl crush on her. She’s phenomenal.

My favorite guitarist. He completely fed off the crowd's energy, and when he spotted audience members trying to take pictures of him, he frequently stopped and posed for them.

My favorite guitarist. He completely fed off the crowd’s energy, and when he spotted audience members trying to take pictures of him, he frequently stopped and posed for them.

DSC04544

DSC04548

The front of the stage rose up and over the audience, in what was probably the most simultaneously amazing and terrifying thing I've ever seen.

The front of the stage rose up and over the audience, in what was probably the most simultaneously amazing and terrifying thing I’ve ever seen.

I will never forget this experience. I’ve been twice now to see Trans-Siberian Orchestra, and I hope it becomes a tradition to at least go every other year, if not every year. The six-hour drive (round trip), the extremely late evening (not getting home til after 2 in the morning), and the exhaustion today, ALL worth it.

If you ever get a chance, go see this show. Maddie described it as “life-changing,” and I whole-heartedly agree.

A

One thought on “Trans-Siberian Orchestra

  1. Pingback: 2012 Recap | The Happy Teapot

Any thoughts?

