It’s Christmas Time In the City

I am pleased to report that aside from one thing, I am fully done with my Christmas shopping a full nine days before Christmas. That may seem a little close to the wire for some of you, but I have been known in the past (mostly in my college years) to be the kind of person who stopped at the mall on the way to Christmas celebrations with my family to buy last minute gifts.

Yeah.

So this is big.

Also big- the wrapping job I did this year. I love wrapping gifts, but I never appreciated the true joy of looking at a unique and beautifully wrapped gift. This year, I spent over an hour on the Internet looking at creative ideas for wrapping gifts.

I bring you my finished results!

Image

I decided initially to try wrapping them in plain brown paper from Dollar General (the type that you wrap packages in) and printing out black and white pictures of the recipient to use in lieu of name tags.

Although I was pleased with the results, it just didn’t seem like enough. So I looked at a few other ideas, and finally got inspired. So I went and purchased some lace and ribbon, and a few different fabrics from the scrap bin.

Image

My cousin Lindy and her fiance Brad got engaged a few months ago and are getting married next year. So I thought their gift would be sweet with a photo of the proposal.

Image

Image

I ended up not being able to use pictures for everyone’s gift, because certain family members didn’t have Facebook, or I couldn’t find a picture I wanted to use. For those people, I made my own name tags.

I cut out little pieces of poster board and used Modge Podge to glue fabric to one side of it. Once it was dry, I used a hole punch to make a hole and tied a ribbon through it to attach it to the package. I was so pleased with how these turned out!

ImageImageImage

I can’t wait for my family to see their gifts this year!

Where do you stand on Christmas wrapping? Is it a hassle or a hobby?

A

**I am deeply saddened by the events that took place in Connecticut on Friday morning. I can’t imagine the grief of those touched by the incident, and my heart bleeds for them. Please join me in prayer and thoughts for all involved.** 

2 thoughts on “It’s Christmas Time In the City

  1. Wow. Now I know why you were exhausted. I wrapped a lot of presents, but I didn’t take the time to make homemade name tags or bows. I slapped pre-made bows and dollar store sticker name tags on mine. Haha. You are a little homemaker! I love the picture idea. I think that’s so unique and thoughtful. I love Christmas!

    • It took me about a million years to wrestle that brown paper around the gifts. It’s so thick! And modge podging my fingers together didn’t help. Haha! I love Christmas too. It makes me so happy!

Any thoughts?

