Mama

Eleven years ago today, I lost my mother. She was diagnosed with breast cancer when I was nine. Five years after her initial diagnosis, my mother went home to be with Jesus.

I do not tell you this because I seek sympathy or attention. I tell you this because this blog is my happy place, but it is also my thinking place. I come here to tell you about my life, but also to discuss the things that are on my heart.

Today, of course, it is my mother.

If I could describe her in one word, it would be magnetic. Mom drew people to her in a way I honestly can’t explain. She was beautiful, yes, with long blonde hair, blue eyes, and a perfect smile. But it wasn’t that. It wasn’t that she was especially outgoing. Even so, to know my mother was to love her. She was funny, laugh-til-your-stomach-throbs funny. She had an amazing howling laugh, and if you heard it you couldn’t help but laugh with her.

She was my best friend, and when she died I was lost. I was fourteen.

Somehow, as time goes by, you find a way to balance your life again. The gaping hole isn’t filled, but other people enter your life to even things out again. I have been so incredibly blessed with an abundance of people who support and love me, and I am more grateful than words can say.

I lost my mother too young, and that will never be okay. But somehow, by the grace and love of God, I will be okay. I will still live a life full of joy, and one day I will see her again.

Happy Wednesday, readers. Thank you so much for visiting me here. I appreciate all of you every day.

6 thoughts on “Mama

  1. This is so sweet and I loved the way you described Leigh. She was such a goofball too and I miss those faces she would make and we would crack up laughing. But you have those sacred, precious memories to carry with you the rest of your life. And yes, you have a hole in your heart, but you will be ok. Leigh is going to see to that!

Any thoughts?

