A Special Teacher Monday Post

Oh, how proud I am today!

So proud, in fact, that I am breaking up my routine this week and making Monday a teacher post.

Let’s start from the beginning. Last fall, in September, I began introducing the concept of sight words with my kids. All of them but one are headed for kindergarten next year (I have one who is a year younger than the rest, so she’ll be with me again next year), and that’s when they begin drilling the kids to start reading.

I thought it would be a good idea to give my kids a bit of a head start on reading and sight words and introduce them to it before they even get to kindergarten next year. Most of them were pretty receptive, but not all of them really got it right away. I put it on the back burner for awhile and worked on alphabet basics for the rest of the semester.

Today, I decided it was time to hit the word wall again.

Word Wall

To my amazement, every one of my kids got all their words right! These are words we haven’t really visited in over a month, possibly more! And they got them right!

We are on the road to “big school” now, and I couldn’t be more happy. My kids can tell you what the title of a book is, what the author and illustrator do, tell you all the seasons, days of the week, and months of the year, and now they are learning to read! (Of course, they know their numbers, shapes, colors and letters, too, but those were things they mostly knew before coming into my room.) They’re learning to do critical thinking exercises, learning to make predictions about books and science experiments, and generally becoming all around geniuses. 🙂

It’s a happy day for this teacher! I hope it’s a happy one for you, too!

A

 

Any thoughts?

