Dr. Seuss Week!

Wow! We have had an extraordinarily busy week celebrating the birthday of Dr. Seuss. I can’t think of any better way to tell you all about it than to break it down day by day. So we’ll start with the decor I put up on my door last Friday.

Lorax Door

This isn’t the full size view, because unfortunately I forgot to take any more pictures once I added a sky to the door. I love this door. I was so proud of how my little Lorax turned out!

MONDAY:

Our book for the day was The Foot Book. (Note: I read several books with my kids each day, but I only found activities to go with certain books that easily lent themselves to crafts or other activities.)

For this book, we traced our feet on construction paper and cut them out. I then taped the feet in a random pattern across the floor and let them jump from foot to foot. (I didn’t tell them this, but they decided on their own that the floor between the feet was lava! How funny is that?)

Foot Book 2 Foot Book Game

TUESDAY: 

Our book today was One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish. I tried to get a color sheet for the kids to do for this one, but I didn’t get a chance to run to the library. But at lunchtime, I gave them One Fish Two Fish Jell-O!

DSC02773

This is actually a picture from last year’s Dr. Seuss day. (Yes, last year it was only one day, and this year I expanded to a full week. Crazy!) This year, I put the fish into the Jell-O and it was really hard to take a picture of that, so I pulled this one from the depths of my laptop. They were a little wary of the fish at first, but once the first brave one chomped down on one, they all happily dug away at their Jell-O and “fished” for the Swedish fish.

WEDNESDAY:

Our book was The Lorax. Because this is such a long book, I didn’t read any other books on Wednesday. I was fully prepared to completely Lorax out the entire day. Too prepared, in fact, because we had to stretch The Lorax into Thursday due to my inability to plan small. Ha. 🙂

Anyway, I found a list of discussion questions at Seussville for the book, and I used several (the ones I thought my kids would understand) throughout the book. The kids were interested and gave very thoughtful responses to the questions. When we were through reading, they returned to the tables and donned their paint shirts. They painted brown paper bags to make Lorax hand puppets!

Lorax Puppet

With the discussion, the painting, and the attaching of mustaches and eyes, we ran out of time on Wednesday and had to continue The Lorax into Thursday!

We did, however, manage to incorporate Dr. Seuss into snacktime again on Wednesday. I did a little digging around on the Internet and found a picture of The Lorax cookies that I just had to copy! I accompanied these cookies with a little “Pink Yink Ink” (from One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish), which was raspberry sherbert mixed with Sprite. YUM!

Lorax Snack Day

 

The Lorax cookies were not that easy to do! Well, they probably would have been easy if not for the fact that my yellow icing did not come with a decorating tip, something that would have made it a lot easier to form the mustache for each cookie. The eyes are white icing with chocolate sprinkles. The kids loved them!

THURSDAY:

We started by finishing up our Lorax activities. We didn’t read the book again, but briefly discussed what happened in the book and set about making some truffula trees.

Truffula Trees

The tufts are tissue paper crumpled up. They really enjoyed this! It is a pretty time consuming project, though, so if you attempt this, make sure you have your supplied prepared ahead of time!

After we finished this one up, we moved on to Thursday’s book, Bartholomew and the Oobleck. I don’t know about any of you, but I had never actually read this book before this week. M’s mother brought it for us to read, along with a recipe to make oobleck. There are several different recipes floating around for oobleck, but our recipe is the one for gak. It includes borax, so be sure to warn your kids multiple times not to get it in their mouths! 

The book is pretty long, so I read through it beforehand and found a few pages that I could skip/shorten a little to keep their attention. When we got halfway through the book, we stopped and mixed up the oobleck. I split it, unmixed, into nine ziploc bags and gave each child one. We continued to read and squished the oobleck in the bags until it was mixed up. The more you mix this stuff up, the better it is. If it’s not mixed enough, it’s kind of goopy and sticky and not as much fun. The perfect consistency is rubbery and squishy. They all sat at the table and played with their oobleck for the next few minutes.

Oobleck

I had one little boy who didn’t want to take his oobleck out when he saw the consistency of everyone else’s. Instead of trying to persuade him, I let him squish his around inside the bag, which made him very happy. Sometimes it just isn’t worth the argument!

FRIDAY:

This was pajama day! The kids were so excited about this all week long. I got in the spirit by wearing a pair of Ninja Turtle pajama pants with them. We read two books this day, Green Eggs and Ham and The Cat in the Hat. 

When we finished Green Eggs and Ham, we took a break from reading to do a little cooking project. I have a little boy with egg allergies, and I also have several picky eaters in my room. I figured they would turn their noses up at green eggs and ham, so I came up with an alternative.

Green Eggs Pudding

Green “eggs” pudding! We mixed up vanilla pudding and added some green food coloring. Once it set up in the refrigerator, we dished it out and I added a Nilla Wafer to each serving to complete the egg look.

We discussed several times that adding food coloring does not change the taste of pudding, but several were still skeptical about my claims. I persuaded each to try at least one bite, and once the first bite went down, they gobbled this pudding and asked for more!

We moved on to The Cat in the Hat after this little break, and when we finished that up, I asked them each what they would do if Thing 1 and Thing 2 came to their homes. The answers ranged from “I would lock them out!” to “I would make them brush their hair.” Silly or serious, the answers were creative and wonderful. I love having critical thinking activities in our class. I realize they are a little young for those activities, but I genuinely believe that there is no limit to what a child’s mind can do. I give them a chance to explore this area of their mind, and I think it truly will benefit them next year when they move on to kindergarten.

We had a wonderful, silly week with Dr. Seuss! I hope you can use some of these ideas in your own room!

A

Any thoughts?

