Friendship Friday

So today, I want to tell you guys a little more about one of my best friends in the world. Her name is Jessica, affectionately known to most of the world as “JGar.” You can check out her blog here. I have mentioned her a few times before, but never told you about our friendship in full.

I was a freshman in college, back in 2007. (Whoa, time flies. That was six years ago!) This was at a very strange time in my life. I chose to go to college an hour away from home because no one from my high school was going there. I wanted the chance to stand on my own two feet, and to be ABBY, not just someone else’s best friend. I was incredibly shy through most of high school, and I wanted the chance to become a different person. Despite this desire to be someone else, I really had not made that many friends yet.

Anyway, I wanted to go see Freedom Writers  and mentioned this to a friend of mine, Alex. He proposed a plan- we should drive to Tupelo and meet two of his friends from high school there who also wanted to go see it. In that awesome spontaneous manner that you have in college (I miss that sometimes, don’t you guys?), I said “Sure!” and we took off for Tupelo a few hours later.

When we got to the theater, we met Alex’s two friends and went inside to sit down. When we were seated, I ended up being between Alex and JGar. For some reason, I turned to JGar and said, “Just so you know, I probably will need to hold your hand during this movie.” I really don’t know what possessed me to say it, but thankfully JGar laughed and told me that was perfectly fine. Halfway through the movie, things reached a critical point. I looked at JGar with probably 10 gallons of tears streaming down my eyes, and saw that she was crying just as hard. Without speaking, we reached for each other’s hand.

At that moment, our friendship was sealed. She graduated high school and came to college with Alex and me, and we were almost inseparable during the rest of our college years. She was one of my pledges in my social club, and we spent many evenings driving down back roads in Columbus, drinking huge Sonic slushes and screaming out the words to our favorite songs. We have a thousand inside jokes, and even now, when we haven’t seen each other since my wedding in 2011, we finish each other’s sentences at least once per conversation. I don’t really see a time where we ever won’t be friends!

jgar

jgar2

jgar3

 

jgar4

 

jgar5

 

jgar6

I’m headed back to work! Have a great afternoon, guys! It’s finally FRIDAY!!

A

Any thoughts?

