Earth Day and Other Preschool Fun

Well, I am unfortunately a day late with my post- this was definitely supposed to go up last night!

We had a great time talking about Earth Day last week. I started introducing the topic about Tuesday, and we looked at pictures of polluted beaches while discussing why it was bad to litter. Monday, we did some fun Earth Day art.

image

This one is very simple and turns out so well. I was proud of their responses, varying from recycling bins to helping the trees grow and taking care of animals.

We also made bird feeders out of water bottles on Monday.

image

image

I didn’t get a picture of the final product, but they were so excited to take their bird feeders home. It was sweet to see them so pumped up about a project. =)

Today, I decided to spend some time doing fine motor activities with the kids. We had a relaxed schedule in the morning, so I whipped up a quick painting activity for them.

image

image

image

Each of my kids picked two paint colors, and was given a cotton ball for each to use as a paintbrush/stamp. I gave the kids no instructions beyond keeping the paint off their clothes. They loved the freedom of this project. M decided to stamp a pattern with her cottonballs, and C and S both used their cotton balls as paint brushes to create abstract paintings. J did a combination of the two. I loved seeing the concentration in their faces as they worked.

This afternoon, it was way too cold to go out, and I just couldn’t listen to little hands digging through the Lego boxes all afternoon. I decided to whip out an old favorite to keep them occupied.
Shaving cream!

image

image

image

We do this about once a month when I take their nametags up to repair/replace the torn ones. The shaving cream cleans away the gooey residue of the contact paper, and it’s a fun and exciting sensory activity for my kids. They LOVED it, and I finally had to practically drag them away from the table at clean up time!

It’s been a busy few days, and it is beginning to dawn on me that I don’t have much time left with this group of kids. I won’t go into it now, but I will say I am fully dedicated to having a wonderful rest of the year with them, making tons of memories!

A

Any thoughts?

