ABCs of ME: Letter A

Today is May 1, and I thought it might be fun to start a little series for myself. This will be the ABCs of me. I will go through the alphabet and find a topic relating to each letter to write about for the day. (I will be posting some of my regular material in addition to this, just to keep myself on track!)

Today’s letter is A. Obviously, my name starts with an A. But that’s not enough. So let’s talk about my favorite band of my childhood:

AEROSMITH. 

aerosmithaeromsith3aerosmith2

My mother was a die-hard Aerosmith fan for many years, and so of course much of my childhood was spent screaming out the words to “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” and other hits. I did listen to some age-appropriate music, including Hanson, Backstreet Boys, and Britney Spears. Most of the time, though, I preferred Aerosmith above all the rest. I even wrote a research paper in the sixth grade on the band, detailing everything from how the band started to their stint(s) in rehab. My visual aids were a shoebox collage/diorama combination and a viewing of the video for “I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing,” the theme from the movie Armageddon. 

I told everyone in the world that I was going to marry lead guitarist Joe Perry. Sure, he was married with four children, and is thirty-seven years my senior, but love is love, right? 😉

And now, a photo montage for the first man that made me even think about glancing away from Michael Bolton, the other love of my life as a child.

 joe perry2                                         joe perry   

joe perry 3

Anyway, Aerosmith still holds a very special place in my heart, and I would still love to see them on tour someday. (Sadly, I have never been able to go.)

Were you ever obsessed with any bands as a kid? Tell me about it!

A

4 thoughts on “ABCs of ME: Letter A

  1. How have we never conversed on how good looking Joe Perry is? Good grief. He’s old as dirt and still sexy. At the moment I can’t think of any bands I obsessed over, but I used to listen to (and sing into my tape recorder) Silver Springs by Fleetwood Mac and think about this boy I had a major crush on in 5th grade. I also listened to a lot of Heart, Rod Stewart, Elton John and of course Fleetwood Mac because of my mom.

    • I even used to have a printed out picture of Joe Perry that I brought to school every day and sat on the corner of my desk. I’m surprised I didn’t grow up to receive a restraining order against him. HA! Just kidding… kind of. 😉 I had no idea that you were a fellow Joe Perry fan. Our friendship makes even more sense now! Also, I love Heart. I used to open my sunroof on my Camry in high school and drive home after work blasting “These Dreams” as loud as it would go. That was my favorite, but I love pretty much anything they did.

Any thoughts?

