Scary Dreams

Today, I’m not really inspired to write about teapots or teaching. I don’t know why, but I’m just in the mood for chatting. Today, I’ve got dreams on my mind. Specifically scary dreams. I have lots of them. I don’t really know why this is, but it’s very frustrating and can be genuinely terrifying at times.

I have expressed this before, but I am extremely afraid of the dark. It’s not so much the actual dark, because I can and do sleep in a pitch black room. But walking in the dark is horrifying to me. I keep flashlights in every room of the apartment for that reason- I will never be caught unaware in a power outage.

Other than that, I am really not afraid of that many things. But I have a very overactive imagination, and I think that might contribute to my dreams.

I thought that today I would share with you about the scariest dreams I have ever had.

The first one that comes to mind is when I was about eight. I had a beautiful white daybed that faced the window. I fell asleep when it was raining, and I dreamed that I woke up and it was still raining. I sat up in bed and looked at the window. There were three things trying to get in my window. They were stick things with stick arms and legs, but claws for fingers. Their faces were upside down triangles, with beady eyes and no mouths. I ran through my house, and everyone in it was gone. I was alone, and the things were coming for me.

That is probably the most vivid dream I have ever had. I can still remember how I felt when I woke up and it wasn’t real. It was the kind of dream that you wake up from gasping for breath.

I mentioned in a previous post that I have long had issues with sleep paralysis. If you are not familiar, sleep paralysis is a state in between being awake and asleep in which the sleeper is unable to move. It can happen when you are first falling asleep or waking up after having been asleep, and is usually accompanied by a feeling of terror.

I have experienced sleep paralysis more times than I can count, and it is always when I am waking up rather than first falling asleep. I have found that it happens more often when I am sleeping on my back, and it is always accompanied by dreams of an intruder in the room (which is apparently pretty typical, from the research I have done).

Anyway, the scariest incident I have ever had was shortly after our wedding. I was sleeping next to the wall, on my back. I could see into the living room, and in my dream I was lying on my back, staring into the living room. I could just barely see over the top of our loveseat, and behind it I could see a woman sitting on the floor. She was watching me, too. I saw her get up and walk slowly toward me. She was not holding anything, and she didn’t look especially threatening, but she had a piercing gaze. I was terrified. I knew that I was dreaming, but I couldn’t move.

The interesting thing about it was, I could hear myself in real life. I was breathing very heavily and grunting from the strain of trying to force myself to sit up and get away from her. But I couldn’t break out of the dream, and I couldn’t move. She drew closer, and finally, as she approached the foot of the bed, I shot up into a sitting position and woke up. I can still remember every single detail of that dream, and I have no idea if it lasted for a minute or an hour, but it is the longest dream I have ever had. It seemed like hours before I could break myself out of it.

Have you ever had any episodes of sleep paralysis? What is the scariest dream you have ever had?

A

9 thoughts on “Scary Dreams

  1. I have nightmares related to my mother’s death, and i remember a dream i had as a little girl about my friends and family turning into some kind of alien with reptilian tongue things. Scared me for weeks!

    • You know, I have had many dreams about my mom’s death, too. Those fall more under the category of emotionally disturbing rather than scary, though. I might include them in a future post if I’m feeling open enough!

  2. Now that lil bit is here, I am having terrifyingly vivid dreams that she is in the bed and one of us is smothering her. I wake up and it’s typically a pillow or lily that I think is the baby. It’s weird because I have never once allowed her to sleep or even fall asleep in our bed. I don’t have them quite as frequently now that she’s a little older, but for a few weeks it was every night!

    • Oh. My. Stars. I would probably dream the same thing. I don’t look down on anybody who co-sleeps with their kids, because if it works for you that’s awesome. BUT I could never do it because I am so terrified I would smother my baby. 😦 I’m glad you don’t have them as often now.

      • I don’t know how anyone could do it. When her reflux was bad and she wouldn’t sleep in the co-sleeper (mini pack n play), she got to sleep in her bouncy seat or (more often) her swing. It took a few nights of screeches and squeals but now she typically sleeps comfortably in her crib (with the help of the baby Einstein crib visualizer). She likes all the space to stretch! Wow I didn’t really mean to launch into a paragraph on Riley’s sleeping habits… But there you go!

  3. I havent, but we’ve had discussions about my night terrors. some of the most terrifying dreams ive ever had. and accompanied by seizure and total exhaustion. miss you!

  4. I have some of the most intense and awful nightmares ever! I once dreamed I was lying in a bed in a really tall tower and there was a witch who kept trying to reach down and grab me. She clawed up my arms and when I woke myself up, I had scratches on my arms. Probably self-induced in my sleep, but terrifying!

    • That’s so scary!! I’m glad someone else besides me has vivid nightmares as an adult. Most of the people I have talked to about this look at me like I’m crazy. Nightmares are not just for kids!

Any thoughts?

