C is for Childhood Favorites

Yesterday’s post  got me in the mood to visit old memories, and so today, I am going to talk about some of my favorite things from my childhood. Most of these will be familiar to you, but I’ll do my best to explain what they are and why they were special to me in my single-digit years.

donkey kong 64

 

Donkey Kong 64. See also: possibly a major part of why Abby is so near-sighted. If I wasn’t curled up in a corner of the couch reading The Baby-Sitters Club or acting out scenes from The Little Mermaid in the basement, I was sitting about one foot away from the TV for hours on end playing this game. I love Donkey Kong. So much that David actually purchased the game for me on the Wii as a Christmas gift, and I played my way through the entire game in a week in the evenings after work. I can’t explain how happy the game makes me. I can still feel the green carpet from my childhood basement scratching my legs when I sat cross-legged on the floor, the itch of my glasses slipping down my nose when I was in the middle of a difficult terrain on the game. Ahhhhh, memories. 

Giga pet

 

Giga pets. Oh, how I loved giga pets. I can’t even count on one hand how many giga pets, Tamagotchis, and other digital pets I had in the third and fourth grade. The one you see above, the Koala, was my all-time favorite. I remember the day it stopped working, too. I was devastated! As quickly as the digital pet craze came on, it faded out, or a least that’s the case where I lived. I’m sure that somewhere in the boxes of junk I keep at my grandparents’ house and my bedroom closet at my parents’ house in Florida, a few of them remain. Also, I added the Tamagotchi app to my phone a few weeks ago, and deleted it within ten minutes. I don’t know how I had the patience to care for 5+ digital pets nearly 20 years ago!

dawson's creek

 

I have discussed my love for this show several times before on this blog. I don’t really have to go into it now, I suppose. But I will. 

I love Dawson’s Creek. I never missed an episode for the first four seasons, and even though I started viewing only on occasion in the last seasons, when I heard it was ending, I curled up in my oldest fluffy pajamas with potato chips and my teddy bear Moses to watch the two-part finale. And cried until I could not breathe and my teddy bear’s ears were stained black from running mascara. When I started watching the series on Netflix last summer, just hearing the music from the pilot episode brought tears to my eyes. It reminded me of evenings on the couch with my mom and brother, eating ice cream out of the container and talking about who our favorite characters were. (I always was and always am Team Pacey, for those who are interested to know.)

celine dion falling into you

This, along with Mariah Carey’s Christmas album, was my absolute favorite album in the fourth grade. I cannot begin to tell you how many times my mother, brother and I drove to meet my dad for weekend visits with this blasting from the speakers. (My brother, in case you are interested, always had his Walkman headphones in before we even pulled out of the driveway. He listened to Green Day and Nirvana while we blasted Celine.) I think it’s a universal feeling to hear a song from your childhood and be struck with a certain strange feeling that you can’t quite name, a quick flash of all the important things from your childhood. When I hear songs from this album, I instantly think of a special comforter with seashells on it, my white daybed, and my mother’s white Malibu.

That’s all for today. David and I have a hot date to see Iron Man 3 and I need to get moving if I’m going to be ready in time!

 

A

2 thoughts on “C is for Childhood Favorites

  1. Ok, now I’m convinced we are the same person. I LOVED DK64. By far my favorite N64 game. I played it all the way through when I was in middle school and coincidentally, I listened to Celine Dion’s greatest hits while playing it. Every time I hear one of her songs I think about that game. Also, I’m team Pacey as well. But I’m also a big Jack fan. Sigh.

Any thoughts?

