ABCs of Me: G is for Girlfriends

I occasionally decide to be extremely sappy on this blog. I apologize, but today is one of those days.

I am generally a loner, you guys know this. I pretty much have always preferred my own company to that of others, and that’s almost completely because I don’t really have the “small talk” gene that everyone else seems to have been given at birth. I have never been great at talking to people, so friends have not ever come easily to me.

That’s why I treasure my best girlfriends.

yvonne yvonne2

 

Above, see my best friend since the first grade, Yvonne. We have been friends for almost twenty years, and I don’t see a time when we will ever not be friends. There has never been a time when I felt like I couldn’t talk to her about something that was bothering me. When we were little we talked about having a double wedding and sharing a loft apartment where we would write together, and I still have hopes that one day we will live closer together!

brittany

 

I’ve written about Brittany before, but just a recap- friends since junior year of high school, although we didn’t actually like each other until our senior year (mostly because we were both petty brats when we first met!!). We saw each other through our crazy college years, and we have begun seeing each other through “grown up” life changes- my engagement and marriage, and the birth of her beautiful daughter Riley.

noelle

 

This is Noelle, my little sister in my college social club, Jesters. We were roommates my senior year, and I have some incredibly fond memories of those days. She and I have stayed in touch since we moved away from each other, and she was able to come stay with us during my birthday weekend last year. We had such a great time- it’s so nice to be with those friends that no matter how long since you last saw them, it’s like no time has passed.

jessi and jgar

 

I love this picture. This is JGar, who I have talked about several times, and Jessi, my pledge sister. I cannot begin to count how many times I tiptoed to their room in the middle of the night to cry about my various life issues. Or how many late night drives we took to various fast food chains, screaming into the darkness about all the things that pissed us off. We’re all hours away from each other now, but I love these girls so much. Words can’t express how much.

chels

 

I don’t think I even need to tell you about my friendship with Chelsey. She is like my sister. We talk every day, all day. She inspires me to do more with this blog, and to reach higher than I might have on my own. LOVE HER. She and I have a date in Tupelo for a Saturday soon, and I absolutely cannot wait.

maddie

 

And of course there’s my Maddie. She’s my sister-in-law, but from the very beginning she’s been more like my real sister. I love her more than words can express, and I am so glad that we got to spend a few hours together today while she touched up my hair. Our relationship is one of the best things that has ever happened to me.

 

Sigh. I miss my girls. I love all of you, near and far. I hope you know that, any of you who might be reading this.

 

A

3 thoughts on “ABCs of Me: G is for Girlfriends

  1. That’s one of my favorite pictures of us. I can’t tell you how much I miss you. I think about you every day! Riley and I have already told stories about mommy and aunt Abby. I love youuuu!

  2. I wasn’t blessed with the gift of gab either. That’s why I find my job so unbearable at times. My boss wants to talk ALL THE TIME. I miss you and I can’t wait for our date soon! Also, I like the new layout!

Any thoughts?

