ABCs of Me: K is for Kitchen Wishlist

I have a problem. That problem is that I want everything that I see in the kitchen aisle at any store or on any website. I fancy myself to be this awesome cook, and I think I need all the appropriate tools and gadgets to create all these culinary miracles.

The issue here is that my kitchen is the size of a shoebox. If you are not a longtime reader of my blog, then you never got to see pictures of my kitchen when I uploaded them sometime last year. Allow me to show you. DSC01849

This is back in August 2011, when I first moved into this apartment. We now have a microwave, a small shelving unit for cookbooks, a Keurig, a toaster, a blender, a knife block, and about 7,428 other odds and ends littering the counters.

I love, love, love to cook, but I hate feeling like I have no elbow room. Also, when I am using the stove or oven, the kitchen heats up immediately, so that makes it difficult to stand hanging out in my kitchen making delicious treats.

Nonetheless, I still dream of prettying up my kitchen with some fancier utensils. I thought today I would make a short list of wishlist items for my kitchen. (Still working that Wishlist Wednesday theme for the day, so I don’t lose track of all my daily themes when I am finished with the ABCs series!)

spatulas

 

1. Oopsy Tasty Spatula, Modcloth $11.99

If I’m being 100% honest, I already have five spatulas. I really don’t need more. But I love spatulas. These are adorable!

utensil crock

 

2. Bamboo Oval Utensil Crock, Bed Bath & Beyond, $14.99

I also already have a utensil crock, sort of. It was a vase that I received as a Christmas gift from one of my students last year, right after the wedding. My utensils are all about the same height as the vase, so I have to dig around for what I need. Also, the print is pretty Christmas-y. This neutral, pretty bamboo utensil crock would be perfect.

pizza cutter

 

3. Animal House Piranha Pizza Cutter, Target $12.19

love quirky household items, especially in the kitchen. For overall decor, it’s probably better to stick with classic items that will still be current in a few years so you don’t have to replace your belongings every few years. But for small items like this, why not have a little fun and whimsy in your house? I would smile every time I cut a pizza!

bottle opener

 

4. Mermaid to Order Bottle Opener, Modcloth $12.99

I know I have mentioned before that The Little Mermaid is my favorite movie. But I probably didn’t mention that beyond that, I just absolutely love mermaids in general. This bottle opener is adorable!

cookie jar

 

5. Mew Stole the Cookies? Jar, Modcloth $49.99

It’s a cat cookie jar. Need I say more?

 

What kitchen items are you craving? Do you like fun, quirky kitchen gadgets, or do you like more classic utensils and tools?

 

A

Any thoughts?

