Tissue Paper Pom Pom Tutorial and Gender Reveal!

If you have been following along on this blog for awhile, then you know that David’s sister Maddie and her husband Cole are expecting their first baby. Last night we had a gender reveal party for them at a local park. When my mother-in-law asked me if I could bring some decorations, I immediately jumped to my go-to party decor, tissue paper pom poms.

image

They’re cute, they’re easy to make, they are CHEAP, and just a few of these makes your room/table/whatever look way fancier!

Supplies:

Eight sheets of tissue paper

Scisors

Fishing wire

image

That’s it!

Step One: Spread your paper out flat and begin folding all the sheets together, accordion style. The folds should be about an inch wide.

image

image

When you are finished folding, tie your fishing wire in the middle of the paper. You can cut the fishing wire short to have poms just to sit on a table, or knot the wire and leave a length of it to string the poms up from the ceiling.

image

You can cut the ends of the paper into a curve or a point. The curve creates a softer look, but the points are extremely pretty, too.

image

Once the ends are cut, spread the accordion folds out like a fan.

image

image

Begin pulling the sheets apart. The pom will feel extremely lopsided until you have all the sheets separated, so don’t lose faith if it doesn’t feel like it’s forming a ball yet.

image

Once all the sheets are separate, you can fluff them as needed to make the poms fill out to the proper shape. And that’s it! You are done!

image

image

Besides the pink and blue, I alternated white and pink sheets of tissue paper and cut the edges into points for a cute chevron-ish look!

image

I’ll close here with a few pictures from the gender reveal. Enjoy!!

image

image

image

It’s a GIRL!!! I was right!! I’m absolutely obsessed with the niece I already have, and I only see her a few times a year. I can’t even imagine what I will be like with a little baby niece right down the road!!

A

Any thoughts?

