ABCs of Me: N is for “No, I didn’t just say that….”

Haha! Stretching the ABCs theme a little hard this time, mostly because N is such a hard letter for me. What am I passionate about that starts with the letter N? Literally the only thing that came to mind was Nirvana. And while I am certainly a fan…. Nirvana doesn’t need a full post from me!

Anyway, today I’m going to talk about some of the absolutely ridiculous things I have said to my students’ parents since I started teaching. If you’ve been reading for awhile, then you know I am an extraordinarily quirky girl. I have a peculiar way of expressing myself that sometimes comes across a little strange to people who don’t know me.

Here are some examples!

E’s mother is a wonderful, sweet woman that I absolutely adore. She teaches kindergarten, and I like to think we would be big buddies if we spent more time together. Yesterday, we were talking and I noticed she had several Band-aids on her fingers. I pointed it out, and she said she was so anxious about the end of the year that she had picked her cuticles apart. Feeling a sense of camaraderie, since I have been feeling particularly anxious about the year ending as well, I said, “Sometimes I think you’re my spirit animal.”

 

…….

 

awkward..

 

 

No, I have no idea why I said that. I meant that I just felt like we had so much in common, but did I say it that way?

NOPE.

 

Example 2.

While leaving work one evening, I find A, an adorable toddler, being buckled into her car seat by her mother. I stop to speak to them and A proceeds to giggle and wave at me. Feeling totally charmed by this sweet little girl, I look at her mother and say, “She’s just so cute. I mean, how do you not chew on her face all day?”

……..

Photo_00026

 

WHY? Why do I do this?

Couldn’t tell you. This is just the strange way I express myself to people, especially about things I am excited about or really love.

Thankfully, E’s mother and A’s mother just laughed and kept talking, which did a lot toward reassuring me that they don’t think that I am a complete psycho.

But I still think I’m going to work on my vocabulary just a little. 😉

A

Any thoughts?

